f.art, somedaymaybe

Taxonomy of Beer

For me to do a reasonable coverage and consume as many varieties possible in this life, I needed a concise and broad classification for beer. I searched for sometime and realized may be I need to do one for myself. Really it seemed unfair for wine and whiskey to take majority of the literature on alcoholic beverages while beer being the third most popular drink of the world (water and tea, the top 2 are not really something to write or talk much about with passion). So I embarked on this extensive beer taxonomy project. I was not interested in the appearance (including color and clarity), the popular confusing terminologies, the brands or the packaging of the beers.

That left me with the following facets and further orthogonal categories within each facet. I have included a brief definition for each of them in the visual.

  • Origin
    • Malt
    • Yeast
    • Hops
    • Fruits
    • Geography and History of the brew
  • Product
    • Palate and Body
    • Froth
    • Flavour
  • Process
    • Roast
    • Fermentation
    • Temperature of brewing
    • Time for brewing
  • Serving
    • Glassware
    • Serving temperature
    • Pour customs

With category definitionsIn short the below floral for the classification is something I will use. I can go further in each of the categories and it could make a decent salable visual, if there is an artist amongst/within you and passionate about beer, do leave me a note. Chill…

Taxonomy Of Beer Map

Standard

Leave a Reply

